Review – We Were on A Break | Lindsey Kelk

imageedit_1_3048583518

  • Title: We Were on A Break
  • Author: Lindsey Kelk
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Release Date: October 6th 2016
  • Pages: 416

Blurb

Is it a break? Or is it a blip? ‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn. ‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’ ‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’ There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out. Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug. But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?


Before you ask, no this book has nothing to do with Friends, so sorry to disappoint dear fans! Having said that, I do feel the author should have acknowledged Ross’ well-known phrase “We Were on A Break” from the TV series. It would have been so much more fun for the readers! I talked to a few people on this and they did feel the no-mention was unforgivable. If there WAS a reference, I’m sorry but it was a no-show for me.  😦

We Were on A Break is a story on Liv and Adam. They have been dating for quite some time now and as they reach a certain stage of their relationship, the pressure to tie the knot mountains – both from family and friends, and internally as well. This book encompasses a truckload of emotions surrounding the expectations and everything that goes along with it. Love does, make the world go round. (Oh and a couple of crazy friends help with that too.)

HAS HE DONE IT YET?????????

My favourite part of this book is definitely the characters. There were so many good ones and each played a meaningful part in the overall story.

Plot wise, it did have a good direction to it but there wasn’t exactly anything out of the ordinary. It was a bit too typical and immature for my liking, to say the least.

The writing was great – nicely paced and understandable. Unfortunately, I did find it rather confusing (and annoying) at times when it came to the narrations. It was very difficult for me to distinguish between Adam and Liv’s voice as the swaps were not clearly stated and most of the time I could only guess at the end of first page into the chapter.

Sometimes, I realized, life didn’t work out quite how you’d imagined it would. 

And sometimes life was all the better for it. 

Overall, if you’re someone like me who rarely reads Chick Lit and have super high expectations for one worth my time, you can give this one a miss. I did enjoy the read, but it wasn’t memorable. But if you’re really into Chick Lit, by all means you could give this a try. I’m pretty sure you would enjoy the humour and lightness to it.

“I knew I should have taken her a pizza instead of flowers.”

Rating: 

I would like to thank Harper Collins International for this review copy in exchange for my honest review!

Leave a Reply

