Review – A Court of Mist and Fury | Sarah J. Maas

ACOMAF

 


Blurb

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.


Lately, I have been in the mood for retellings – both movies and books, and since I just read A Court of Thorns and Roses over a month ago, I knew I needed to catch up on the sequel FAST before I stumble upon any spoilers. (Social media is a dark, DARK place for those seeking a spoiler-free good time.) A Court of Mist and Fury left me in a very bad state after – sleepless nights, fever, book withdrawal syndrome – well you get the picture. I’m thankful for my bookish friends though whom I could fangirl with as that really helped me get through the hangover. Yes, fan arts and all, which I still have as my phone screensaver.

Despite recovering from all that, I still find myself staring right back at the book sometimes, in between trying to hide from the secrets I now know of and yearning to reach out and dive into this magical world all over again. Think starry nights, glittery waters and gorgeous mountains all around you. The Night Court, that’s the place you would want to be in. Sarah, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO US?

A Court of Mist and Fury is a retelling of Hades and Persephone, a classic Greek methodology on how Persephone, the daughter of goddess Demeter, was kidnapped by Hades, the God of the Underworld, and later became the Queen of the Underworld.

Similarly, in A Court of Mist and Fury, we will see how Feyre’s time in the Spring Court alongside Tamlin, the High Lord of the Spring Court, soon came to an abrupt end after she was taken away by Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court, to the grand, magnificent, gorgeous Night Court. During her time at the Spring Court, Tamlin was watching her every move, overprotecting her from harm and keeping secrets from her. Though Tamlin meant well, Feyre was suffocating inside – it deteriorated her very soul. As she starts a new chapter surrounded by new people, who soon became her friends, she goes through an emotional spin after deciding to stay on at the Night Court and cut all ties with her past, Tamlin and rest of the Spring Court. She chose a new life away from her dear lover Tamlin to be a member of his enemy’s Court. What. A. Story. 

“And I wondered if love was too weak a word for what he felt, what he’d done for me. For what I felt for him.”

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book to my current favourite fantasy-romance series and it certainly did justice (and more) in bringing the characters to their strongest, giving them the opportunity to shine through. The new characters played a big role in the rest of the story, and I soon fell in love with Rhysand, who is ultimately, not as he once seemed.

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

Despite loving the overall plot and writing, I do have a few issues which I badly feel should be highlighted:

Firstly, the introduction of New Adult content was very unexpected and too early in the book. As the story progressed, the following scenes were much better structured but dear, oh dear, the first scene was a disappointment for me as I felt that even though it was important to showcase the love Tamlin and Feyre had for each other, its timing was rather off-putting.

Secondly, I’m sure you still remember how highly I spoke of Sarah’s writing. Don’t get me wrong, her writing in A Court of Mist and Fury was just as good if not better – beautiful prose, elegant writing and excellent world-building. However, there was one thing that bothered me, the repetition of a phrase – “tear into ribbons” – which I came across in A Court of Thorns and Roses AND a few times in A Court of Mist and Fury. I wasn’t a fan of this at all so it was indeed a letdown.

Thirdly, the introduction of new characters. Too many characters were introduced at once so I was caught re-reading a particular chapter a few times to tell them apart and get a feel of whom they were. This was rather irritating for me but as soon as I got pass that, I did enjoy and follow the said characters with hardly any trouble.

Fourthly, Tamlin’s disappearance in most of the story. I won’t go in detail on this but hey, you’ll see.

Overall, this book was – surprising. I was surprised at myself for not liking it at first (my expectations were huge!) because of the few weaknesses I found very early in the book, but soon, I did love it, but certainly not enough for me to close one eye to my earlier impression of it, which is why I struggled with the overall rating.

I did however, enjoy everything else greatly. I enjoyed the new relationships that grew due to Feyre’s earlier bargain with Rhysand and the friendships that formed in the Night Court itself. I was on my toes for practically the entire second half of the book, praying hard for the dear lives of our new found friends, and this story really shows us how at difficult times, it is the silent heroes who play the biggest role in fueling the team spirit against evil.

This story was indeed a work of art. I’m pumped up and ready for what is to come! Give it to me, give it to meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

“I am broken and healing, but every piece of my heart belong to you.”

Oh and yes, Rhysand is BAE. Please come soon, Book 3? Pretty, PLEASE?

Rating: 

5 thoughts on “Review – A Court of Mist and Fury | Sarah J. Maas

  1. I just finished this two days ago and I love it!! My problem with this book was also the repetitive uses of certain words like “sighed” used to describe the way the dresses moved. But I absolutely love the plot, it was so much better than the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m glad you just read it! I didn’t notice “sighed” though cause I was too busy stressing over “tear into ribbons” but omg repetition does seem to a problem right? I do hope ACOTAR 3 will be repetition-free if not I will end up rating it lower than ACOTAR too 😂😂 The plot was great though, yes! A lot of development and provided the foundation to many great things ahead! 😁 CAN’T WAITTTT. Did you have a major hangover after?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not a massive one but I’m definitely craving for more of Prythian and Illyrian soldiers. I really want to see more Summer Court tho, I fell in love with the land and the people. I can’t wait to explore more courts! Each and every court seems to have their own beauty.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

