Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses | Sarah J. Maas

imageedit_1_3756358124

  • Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Author: Sarah J. Maas
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s
  • Release Date: May 5th 2015
  • Pages: 416
  • Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Blurb

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, unlike all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.


Let’s talk about how happy I feel to finally revisit my favourite Disney story through this well-told Beauty and the Beast retelling.

Let’s talk about how I picked up the PERFECT book which made me fall in love with Fantasy all over again.

Let’s talk about how great a writer Sarah J. Maas is, certainly worthy of her throne.

Let’s talk about A Court of Thorns and Roses – and how I will force you to read it, if not we can’t be friends!

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a story of Feyre (“Fay-ruh”), who was taken away by Tamlin, Lord of the Spring Court, to Prythian (“Prith-ee-en”) after she mercilessly slaughtered a wolf when she was out hunting. It turned out that the wolf was no ordinary one, it was a faerie from Prythian, leaving her to pay back for what she had done. Being the backbone and carer of her family, it was with heavy heart that she left – out to venture into the world of the unknown with her captor. She soon met many among the High Faes, the ruling nobility in the fae world.

“I found him carefully studying me, his lips in a thin line. “Has anyone ever taken care of you?” he asked quietly.
“No.” I’d long since stopped feeling sorry for myself about it.”

As you would have expected from a Beauty and the Beast retelling, the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin soon grew, and trust me, you will feel the heat. A relationship built from trust and care; sure to make you close the book at certain parts, place it on your chest and just sigh. This is a perfect blend of Fantasy and Romance, and my, oh my, I loved every bit of it.

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

If you are a fan of both Fantasy AND Romance, you’re in for a treat. However even if you are not much of a Fantasy reader but would love to give one a try, please please please choose this book. You will not regret it and here’s why:

The world building was beautifully written. This is my first read from Sarah and I must stress – I was honestly very, very impressed. I totally understand now why she is dearly loved by so many readers around the globe. I felt and saw it all – as the new world opened up before my eyes. Her descriptions were on point, her pace was perfect. She didn’t beat around the bush, no drags. It was all very direct and exciting, yet she managed to bring it together with elegance. I cannot emphasize enough how much of an amazing writer she is. I. Loved. It.  

The characters were very well-developed. Each and every main character came out strong in their own way – characters we could feel for, characters we could look up to, characters we could loathe. Out of all the main characters; Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, Rhysand and Amarantha, my absolute favourite was – wait for it – Tamlin. I must admit that I love strong women characters, especially one as empowered as Feyre, but Tamlin is a charm. He is incredibly protective over Feyre, he does so much to give her a comfortable life and peace of mind, and the effort he puts in for her is admirable. Everything he does has her in mind, but he never once stopped looking out for his own kind in the Spring Court. He leads with a big heart and strength, both physical and mental, – qualities I adore in him. Rhysand fans, you guys can have him for now. I’m all for Tamlin at the moment. We’ll see soon if that will change in the next book!

The storyline was captivating. The chapters were short yet concise, leaving me plenty of room to think and appreciate as I progressed. The flow was smooth and I was happy that Sarah highlighted a lot on family and friendships too – such as Feyre’s relationship with her father and sisters, and Tamlin’s friendship with Lucien. Overall a good balance of positive lessons to learn and life hardships to appreciate.

Many people I know struggled with the rating of the A Court of Thorns and Roses especially after how good A Court of Mist and Fury is compared to its prequel. But I’m standing my ground. This book is an excellent opening to the trilogy and I would definitely recommend it, hands down.

“I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.”

Rating: 

I have yet to read the sequel A Court of Mist and Fury. If you are interested to buddy read it with me, do let me know!

3 thoughts on “Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses | Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

